Improve Your Ecommerce Product Pages: 7 Tips from a Holiday Shopper

I’m sure it’s no surprise to most that online shopping is on the rise this holiday season (a 29% increase from last year on Cyber Monday alone!) With ecommerce numbers increasing so drastically, online retailers really need to make sure that their websites are up to par, in particular their product pages.

Now I admit, I am a frequent online shopper – especially during this time of year. I have literally not bought a single gift in a physical store this year, and although it still beats the heck out of having to physically shop, there was still much room for improvement. Especially when it came to product pages. After much holiday shopping frustration, I’ve compiled the following 7 tips that will help online retailers improve their website’s product pages, for the holidays and year-round.

holiday shopping online

  1. Include customer reviews! I know I’ve mentioned this in other blog posts, but I can’t stress enough how important reviews are. This was almost always the first thing I looked for on a product page, and I noticed that I actually gravitated toward items that had reviews versus items that did not. Even if they were a bit pricier. Bottom line:  I was more willing to trust other customers than the company I was buying from.
  2. Multiple, quality product images. This is another tip I’ve mentioned before, but it still holds true:  images are the most important selling feature when selling products online. It is astounding how many online retailers don’t have quality product images. As a shopper, I want to see multiple high resolution images from different angles, be able to zoom in, and even watch a product video. I’m sorry, but only displaying one tiny, crappy picture isn’t going to cut it.
  3. Show the shipping & returns information. This information needs to be displayed very clearly on every product page, especially during a major holiday season when shoppers want their purchase to arrive before a certain date. I was much more comfortable purchasing an item that had the expected delivery date and return information right there on the product page, so I knew that my purchase would be delivered in time for the holidays.
  4. Humanize your product descriptions. Product descriptions are super important in ecommerce. Sure, you could use the same boring, manufacturer-provided product description that all your competitors use, but if you really want to differentiate your company (and impress your customers) try writing your own product descriptions. Make them fun, make them interesting – just make them different. Your customers will notice the personal touch and will feel like they’re buying from a real person instead of a corporate robot.
  5. Make sure your pages load quickly. Shoppers are impatient – especially during the holiday season. No one has time to sit and wait for your product pages to load. Don’t sacrifice speed and usability for overly flashy web design that is going to keep your customers waiting forever (– they won’t!). Keep in mind that optimal loading time for a product page is about 2 seconds – anything longer than that and you risk losing the sale.
  6. More product information! Don’t make shoppers hunt for more information about a product (I promise you, they won’t). Product data is what empowers shoppers to make sound, smart purchase decisions. For example, I spent countless hours searching for a plush animal chair for my daughter. I found multiple chairs that I liked, but because none of them specified how tall the chair was, I didn’t buy any of them. I didn’t want to waste money on something that wasn’t exactly what I wanted. And who knows – all of those chairs may have been the perfect size, but since none of the retailers gave me that specific piece of information, they lost out on a sale.
  7. Show accurate product availability. I can’t tell you how frustrating it is to spend hours researching a product, finally decide to buy and add it to your cart, then… find out it’s out of stock. Why wasn’t it marked out of stock on the product page in the first place? Or my personal favorite, the product is marked in stock but is unavailable for delivery or purchase in-store – what?? And if you think this only affects your online sales, you’re wrong. A vast majority of shoppers check product availability online before shopping in-store. Avoid upsetting your customers and display stock levels and availability very clearly on your product pages – or take products offline when they are not available for purchase.

Do you have any other tips for improving ecommerce product pages to add the list? Be sure to leave your input in the comment section below!

Learn how product information management software can help you improve your product pages, in combination to the tips above. Download the free white paper below!

Click here

