Communicate and Build Your Brand with ‘Megalogs’

Author: Jennifer Krizanek

Connect your channels through Catalogs (a.k.a. ‘Megalogs’) to drive traffic

Using catalogs as a direct-selling tool is a thing of the past.  Today, companies are strategically  building and communicating their brands through ‘Megalogs’.  Never heard of the term ‘Megalog’?  Me neither until I stumbled across this article and after reading it I realized that I do connect more with brands that I receive catalogs from.

Building your brand through catalogs and other channels in a consistent manner is a great course of action to uniquely position yourself in a way that gives the perception that you are an expert in the field.  Most times I will receive a catalog from a reputable brand that I have never heard of before.  You may ask, why do I say reputable when I have never heard of them…well, the quality of the catalog,  the photography, and the content/copy, sells me in to the idea that they are a specialty company and it creates this aura of confidence and trust.  I may have never heard of this company before, but now that I received their catalog and it has piqued my interest, my first thought is to check them out online (via my iPad) to see if this is a viable company.  The idea is that if they never sent me a catalog, I may never have known who they were.

Use your catalog to drive sales.  There are a lot of companies out there that publish great catalogs.  Just a couple of my favorites are, PotteryBarn and PotteryBarn Kids, and Nordstrom. These strongly branded catalogs have me loving every page and after I finish looking through them I later find myself on their websites purchasing products from them.  I will say that if the photography is not done well, I tend to discredit the catalog, and I don’t end up visiting them online or purchasing from them.  😦

That brings me to the next point.  Utilize catalogs to connect with other channels and drive them to the web, mobile, email, etc.  Please know that the transition between channels should be seamless.  The look and feel of the brand, the content/copy, and photographs that I see in one channel should be what I see in all of the others.  Otherwise, I have a disconnected experience and I start to lose trust.

When I say ‘look and feel’ of the brand…what does that mean?

  • colors
  • type face
  • configuration
  • photography
  • graphics
  • and more

Drive traffic to your store by the way of customized catalogs (more imagery) that focus on customers who like to purchase via a direct channel.

Managing your products, related content, and media in a central repository keeps the look and feel of your brand consistent in all channels.   A product information management (PIM) solution automates the process of communicating and building your brand in all sales channels.

Download insights from analyst Aberdeen on how to assess the role of product information management in an omni-channel retail environment, and the impact that updating information in real-time has on businesses and their customers.

How do you interact with a brand when you receive their catalog?

